Current Rinse Cycle: Soaking

I see that I haven’t posted anything since May, and have replied to others’ posts very sporadically. Lots of super-quick “likes,” though. If it’s of any concern, it’s because I go through cycles due to juggling too many hobbies. And maybe something else.

I don’t have any kind of blog schedule, nor do I want one. Work/Life balance permitting, I’ll write a Pauper Prince chapter, then sculpt, then write a fanfic chapter, then sculpt, and on. At the moment I’m working on four sculptures simultaneously, so that’s delayed my writing significantly. But also…

Since April, my weekends have not been my own due to caring for a friend who’s suffered a serious stroke. In practice it’s more like: be there as a “spotter” so that her completely knackered husband can sneak off to work. As long as no responsible adult is at their home all day, he can’t work.

While there, I can’t sculpt (too much “stuff” to haul over there) and can’t write (iPads suck for that). Not a complaint, just a fact. When he can work five days a week again, my obligation will end, and I may be able to juggle a bit better. Until then, I’ve promised to help them see it through. This is not fishing for praise. I don’t think of myself as warm or loving. It’s not in my nature to “give of myself.” I don’t devote time to charities, but will throw money at them. For whatever reason, though, this is something I’m determined to stick to.

I would say “Take care of yourselves, all! Don’t have a stroke!” but those things, like aneurysms and the like, just seem to HAPPEN. And they all suck.

About herdthinner

Writer and artist who pays the bills with another job
This entry was posted in Navel-Gazing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Current Rinse Cycle: Soaking

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend, but I am glad you have been able to be there for them. Even though you aren’t writing, it’s also good to hear you are creating via sculpture.

    We’ll be here when you come around, and understand when you can’t. Take care!

  2. I’m also sorry to hear about your friend. When I can’t type, I use notebooks. They are handy for drawing maps, abbreviating, and mapping out an outline, all things I skip when I’m typing sometimes. I guess I’m old-fashioned. I like to write with a pen. I hope your friend recovers. Warmly, Brenda

    • herdthinner says:

      I plot my stories in my head and work out scenes over and over again. After all, I’m writing out my personal fantasy, so it’s what I’m daydreaming about! When I’m forced to write by hand, it’s just covering what I already know and am eager to type out. My hand cramps very quickly when I write, and I’ve never had neat writing. I’m not even good at taking notes during work meetings. I think I’m still using the notepad I started with, almost 4 years ago!

      I haven’t seen my friend in some time because their weekends keep getting booked with, as her husband puts it, “church crap.” I’m glad I don’t belong to an overactive church that’s constantly sucking up my weekends?! The worst part is that he’s not the religious one. He used to have the place to himself while the family went to services. But I am always on call for help, even though my regular family can get frustrated by my lack of weekend availability. Recovery will be lengthy. It’s the way of strokes. There has been much improvement, but then some things happen that remind all of the need for more healing.

Make a Curmudgeon smile and write sumthin'?

