Share Your World – 2014 Week 12

I think I’ve gotten the hang of this, but I’m concerned that all this navel-gazing is derailing the original purpose of my blog. But I’ll indulge in this week’s questions, then see if I can get back on track.

What is your favorite smell/scent?
Some kind of food, most likely, because I love food. Uhh… Coffee, though I don’t drink it. Fresh cheese pizza. Popcorn (not burned). Crisp apple streudels. Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzels with WHOOOOOA WHAT JUST HAPPENED THERE.

.
How do you write: computer, longhand or other?
Computer. My handwriting has degraded to the point where my good hand (left) looks like my off hand’s writing. Quite tragic, really.

.
Your favorite blog post that you have written? (add link)
This is why I’m participating this week, heh heh heh heh (imagine me rubbing my hands). All this navel-gazing is nice, but my main reason for starting this blog was to write a fictional story. It’s all mushy fantasy fairytale romance, too, which is my polar opposite in behavior and attitude towards This Thing Called Love. I cannot stress that enough. Anyway, it’s what I wish people were reading instead of my navel-gazing, but I like getting pageviews and likes, regardless. So I am, of course, a total hypocrite. Heh heh heh heh.

I actually have two favorites from this blog, plus one from another blog.

http://wp.me/p3w5TX-r = Chapter 1 of the Pauper Prince. Sets the scene and tone and all that stuff
http://wp.me/p3w5TX-2w – Chapter 24. My heroine gets a major dressing down that could be interpreted as anti-feminist… or is it? You decide!
http://wp.me/p3HAGQ-5 – The inaugural chapter of the Pauper Princess Fanfiction Theatre.

Have I said “Heh heh heh heh” yet? HEH!

.
What’s one of your favorite books from childhood?
…Book that I’ve read… at all… Uh… See, I’m a hobbyist so I don’t really…. Okay, If comic books count, it would be the Uncanny X-Men during the Chris Clarement / John Byrne years. The entirety of the Phoenix Saga. Wow.

If I have to pick a book-book for kiddies, I guess that would be the Clifford the Big Red Dog series, because he was just this giant, mutant dog, and that sort of weirdness appeals to me.

Personal trivia: I was a spontaneous reader at around age 4. I never had any reading lessons; it just clicked. Ironically, I have not grown up to be a great devourer of literature and am really not that well-read.

.
Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
Finishing up a sculpture that’s taken me months to do. That’s part of what derailed my fictional writing this past month.

I’m looking forward to taking it to a convention in Seattle. It wil have to be hand-carried on the plane. Of course, my luck being what it is, the more I hope for something to happen without a hitch, the less likely it will. I know that sounds pessimistic, but I’m basing this on personal history. I learned long ago to assume the worst so that I won’t be surprised if it happens.

Now I gotta get back to the fictional stuff!

About herdthinner

Writer and artist who pays the bills with another job
This entry was posted in Navel-Gazing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Share Your World – 2014 Week 12

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing with all of us this week. I enjoyed reading your answers!

Make a Curmudgeon smile and write sumthin'?

