Misconceptions

More than one person at work refuses to believe me when I remind them that I’m a consummate introvert.

I shouldn’t be offended by that, but I am. That’s because to not believe what I’m telling you implies that you think I’m a liar, and THAT… is one of my berserk buttons.

My guess is that they’re equating introversion with shyness, which is the most common misconception. I don’t recall ever having a problem with public speaking (public singing, yes, but that was another post), so maybe that clouds the issue.

Meanwhile, my perfect vacation is a staycation. On Saturdays, if I don’t have anything specific that I need to do, I won’t even leave the condo. If my biggest wish – winning the lottery – were to come true, I think I’d be seen in public less often than J.D. Salinger (before he died, I mean).

The moral of the story is: if someone tells you that they’re an introvert, PLEASE BELIEVE THEM. Thank you.

About herdthinner

Writer and artist who pays the bills with another job
This entry was posted in Navel-Gazing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Misconceptions

  1. Brenda says:

    I believe you. People think being an introvert means not talking, but that’s not it at all, we are just quiet because we have too much rich internal life, and have no trouble talking at all, once we get going. At least, that’s my point of view.

  2. herdthinner says:

    It’s almost midnight, meaning it’s almost Monday. I’m not ready to face the “crowd” at work, but never have the option there of taking mental health days. There’s always too much to do. Which is, of course, a reason TO take a mental healthy day. They should rename the company “Catch 22, LLC.”

Make a Curmudgeon smile and write sumthin'?

